Policy Council Portal

Policy Council members are currently enrolled Head Start parents and interested community members who act as a link between those people making and carrying out decisions and the people Head Start serves. Policy Council members are elected by their peers.

GOAL: The Policy Council actively participates in the development of school readiness goals and helps to assess the programs progress in achieving those goals.

Elections for new parent representatives to Policy Council will take place during parent orientation in September.  If Interested please contact Alicia Carter  301-797-5231 x 123



Meeting Time:  5:30 pm to 7:00 pm
Meeting Location:  Sargent Shriver Center, 837 Spruce Street, Hagerstown, MD 21740

Upcoming Meeting Dates 
January 22, 2018                   July – None
February 12, 2018                 August – None
March 12, 2018                      September 25, 2017
April 16, 2018                        October 16, 2017
May 21, 2018                         November 20, 2017
June 18, 2018                        December 11, 2017


2017- 2018


Gabrielle Jeanty Chairperson
Taruna Patel  Vice-Chairperson
Anthony Echibe  Treasurer
Alicia Carter HSWC Family Advocate & Policy Council Gov.
Alicia Hoffman Secretary
Bruce McCarthy
 Community Representative- Department of Social Services
Karla Delauter  Community Representative -Family Health Care
Sandra Balbuena Community Representative – The Hub
Kelly Mills-Thompson  Community Representative – HHA

2017- 2018


 Alicia Hoffman HS Representative | MLK Center
Amy Rhoderick EHS Representative | Homebase
 Anthony Echibe HS Representative | Sgt. Shriver Center
 April Baker HS Representative | Elgin Center
 Dawn Evans HS Representative | Sgt. Shriver Center
 Djethina (DJ) Constane HS Representative | MLK Center
 Gabrielle Jeanty HS Representative | MLK Center
 Gregory Jefferson HS Representative | Noland Center
 Jesse Munson HS Representative | Homebase
 Lakeisha Thrower EHS Representative | Elgin Center
 Michael Lindsay HS Representative | MLK Center
 Robert Strother HS Representative | MLK Center
 Stephanie Crowley HS Representative Alt. | Elgin Center
 Taruna Patel HS Representative |Sgt. Shriver Center